CDClick option below to add to cart.

LPClick option below to add to cart.

The Grey

Asleep At The Wheel (LOV048)

01. Captain of Thieves
02. Roll The Numbers
03. Hate The Music
04. Sinking
05. The Moving Parts
06. Good People Everywhere
07. Let The Machines Take It
08. No Guarantees
09. The Lights Are Alright
10. Brand New Drugs

The Grey is a powerful, melodic rock quartet that periodically delves into experimental tangents. With influences ranging from Fugazi, the Jesus Lizard, Seaweed, Drive Like Jehu, and Juno to Tom Petty, The MC5, Neil Young, and Nick Cave, one can be assured that hints of styles, new and established, can be found in their post-rock stylings. Formed in the spring of 2003 in Ottawa, Canada, The Grey turned sporadic practices among old friends in a sweltering attic into a weekly ritual. This allowed the members of previous bands such as Shotmaker, Three Penny Opera, and Buried Inside to assemble a new musical group. These casual sessions quickly began to churn out a hybrid of punk rock and quirky experimental parts that sparked the enthusiasm of everyone involved and The Grey was born.

Asleep at the Wheel, their first full-length, is an energetic blast of raw feeling and forward thinking. One of the highlights of The Grey's debut is their ability to meld effortlessly different musical elements and influences into something wholly satisfying and engaging. The Grey's music on Asleep at the Wheel is at once cerebral and violently passionate, a quality often sorely lacked by their musical peers.

The Grey was Matt Deline (guitar/vox), Hayden Menzies (percussion), Chuck Saso (guitar/back vox), and Luke Rashotte (bass/vox). They performed with band such as Engine Down, Thursday, The Constantines, Pretty Girls Make Graves, and Death From Above 1979, among others.

You might also like: