DVDClick option below to add to cart.

Various Artists

Lovitt Transmissions: Volume One (LOV037)

01. Engine Down - Taken In
02. Sleepytime Trio - Jesus Extract
03. Bats & Mice - Safe Bet
04. Four Hundred Years - Suture
05. Sleepytime Trio - All Ease
06. Rah Bras - Arty
07. Engine Down - Intent to Pacify
08. Fin Fang Foom - Fate and Chaos
09. Frodus - Segment #1
10. Four Hundred Years - Architect
11. Bats & Mice - Undress Princess
12. Maximillian Colby -Segment #1
13. Sleepytime Trio - 30 Equals
14. Milemarker - Segment #1
15. Rah Bras - Pony Song
16. Fin Fang Foom - Fool and The Feign
17. Engine Down - Demure
18. Frodus - Segment #2
19. Four Hundred Years - Transmit Failure
20. Bats & Mice - Military Smile
21. Fin Fang Foom - Yesterday Doesn't Exit
22. Rah Bras - Fungry
23. Sleepytime Trio - Rock Candy
24. Engine Down - Second of February


01. Commentary Track
02. Lovitt Family Tree
03. Sleepytime Trio - Not Without My Swimmies
04. Cornbread Compton - Lose My Head
05. Rah Bras - Subtlelights
06. Bats & Mice - In Spite of
07. Engine Down - Retread
08. Four Hundred Years
09. Jeremy Taylor Interview
10. Engine Down - Castalia

Lovitt Transmissions: Volume One DVD is Lovitt's first foray into documenting the label's history from a visual and sonic perspective. Composed of interviews, live performances, and tour footage captured from 1994 to 2003 by friends, fans, featured bands, and a professional production team, the DVD tells the story of one of the east coast's most influential, community-based record labels.

Brian Lowit launched Lovitt Records in June 1992 in Greensboro, N.C., as a small mailorder that carried records from various independent distributors, including Mordam and Dischord. In 1995, Lovitt released its first 7". Lowit moved back to D.C. in 1998 and Lovitt records released its first full-length by the seminal hardcore band, Four Hundred Years. Initially Lovitt's core roster focused on Richmond, Va., and Washington, D.C., with releases by Frodus, Sleepytime Trio, and Engine Down. The label continues to document the new projects and evolution of its original roster members with releases by Bats & Mice, Rah Bras, and Ben Davis, and has more recently sought out fresh faces such as Fin Fang Foom, Dame fate and Pinebender.

This DVD project was expertly edited and handled by Bifocal Media (Michigan Fest, Better Automatic DVDs), a North Carolina-based company that specializes in cutting - edge design, editing, and DVD production. Bifocal Media also captured most of the live performances with multiple camera angles and live sound direct from the soundboard.

Bands featured on Lovitt Transmissions draw heavily from Lovitt's early history and include: Bats & Mice, Engine Down, Fin Fang Foom, Four Hundred Years, Frodus, Maximillian Colby, Milemarker, Rah Bras, and Sleepytime Trio. The DVD is over two hours long and features optional audio commentary by Lowit, Jason Hamacher from Frodus, and Charles Cardello from Bifocal Media. Extras on the DVD include a visual of LovittÃŒs family tree, supplemental tour footage, and a rap video from Cornbread Compton of Engine Down. Lovitt Transmissions: Volume One is a comprehensive, collaborative showcase of the label's talent that will appeal to rabid fans and casual listeners alike.

You might also like: